top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichaela Da Silva

Learning Editing Software

This week I had a very engaging session with my mentor, Kim Culbert. I learned how to use the basics of photoshop and how I can apply these skills to my everyday shoots.




During this week’s session Kim and I focused on learning the basics of portrait editing on Photoshop (Adobe) and how to apply this to the types of photos I am taking on a daily basis. This was a very interactive session; Kim showed me how to do do a specific task such as balance foregrounds with curves using a histogram and let me do it on a different image afterward.



I learned how to blur out acne and zit blemishes on someones face. I remembered a client I did a photoshoot for a while ago who asked if I could blur out eye bags and unwanted pigment on their face and I did not know how to do it. I pulled up the photo and Kim showed me how to seamlessly edit the marks out while keeping the person’s face flush and organized. She talked quite a bit about common misconceptions when editing red eyes and closed eyes on family portraits and how to avoid problems she sees a lot in beginning photographers. I explored this area more with her because I know that myself as a learner tends to go fast and rush through things and make plenty of mistakes in my work, and I want to work better to avoid popular mistakes to create radiant, attractive photos.




I am excited to start to put the skills I have learned to the test and start experimenting more with editing!

Thank you to my beautiful model Kathryn Matheson.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page